Nutrition

donuts

Who doesn’t love carbs? Or sweets? I have an obsession with Reeses and blueberry muffins, and if I could eat them all day I would. I have noticed for myself that if I do not meal prep for the week, the idea of disco fries, pizza, and banana nutella pancakes sneak into my thoughts for lunch.

Now ideally, if you are looking to loose weight or eat clean, you want to avoid eating your favorite snacks in bulk and everyday, but what’s nice about flexible dieting is you can treat yourself here and there in order to not overindulge.

So let’s talk about food and calories. The average caloric intake to maintain current body weight for a male is ∼2500Kcal and for a female it is ∼2000Kcal.

1lb of body fat equals 3500 calories. To lose 1lb/week, decrease caloric intake by 500 calories per day

This does not mean skipping meals or eating minuscule portions. Include foods from all the basic food groups while avoiding or limiting intake of foods with high levels of saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, sodium and sugar.

And this is not telling you that carbs are the enemy. Carbs give you energy! So maybe don’t go crazy with pizza and bagels, but try having a sweet potato (hold the butter), or a baked potato, brown rice or whole grains (oatmeal, whole grain breads, etc.).

A healthy eating plan includes:

  • Fruits,vegetables, whole grains, fat-free or low-fat milk products
  • Lean meats, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts
  • Controlled portion size

I work an 8 1/2 hour work day and am on my feet all day, therefore I get hungry fast! I like to eat small meals throughout the day, but you may like 3 larger meals, that is totally up to you and you need to pick what works best in your schedule. I start off my work day with a smoothie (my go to is skim milk, tablespoon of yogurt, 1 banana, handful of blueberries, strawberries and a cup of spinach), I will then have a power crunch bar (these tend to curb my sweet tooth cravings), zucchini chicken parm boats (I meal prep a different lunch idea every week- recipe is below because they are too amazing to not share), carrots with hummus, then I finish my work day with a lean protein (preferably chicken, turkey, or fish- I don’t eat red meat) and a complex carb! Sometimes I treat myself to s’mores pop tarts too-tell no one!

If you are not ready to change your whole menu of eating try making healthy changes for just one meal!

Example:

Instead of an iceburg lettuce salad with ranch dressing try eating field greens with vegetables and light balsamic dressing!

Instead of steak and mashed potatoes try eating a leaner meat (chicken, fish, turkey) with mashed cauliflower or a sweet potato and some veggies with garlic!

 

http://www.thewholesomedish.com/chicken-parmesan-zucchini-boats/

 

 

 

11 comments

  1. I just started meal prepping my meals again. I was working out a lot, but my nutrition took a back seat. I made a sandwich, quinoa salad, and carrots with hummus for lunch. I brought a kind bar, banana, and coconut water as snacks. My problem is I love to snack a lot and working at a desk job all day it’s super easy to snack when bored. Any advice for how to avoid knee pain when running? I have a bit of a tinge in my right knee and I think I will ice it tonight and do some walk sits and stretching. http://www.runningtomilan.wordpress.com

    Like

    • I’m sorry to hear your knee is bothering you, where are you getting the pain? A lot of times your IT band can get super tight from running and it becomes over active, also your lateral quad muscle tends to be overactive compared to the inside muscle (the vmo) and it pulls your knee cap laterally instead of straight, and that will cause knee pain. Stretching your IT band and strengthening the quads will help reduce the pain

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Reese’s too. I could eat a whole bag. This is a great article! Flexible dieting really is the way to go and hopefully posts like this get more prevalent and introduce more people to the concept. I’m so sick of exclusionary diets being touted as the fix all problem.

    Like

  3. SO relatable! Love the blog post! I found that snacking throughout the day is the best way to stop those crazy cravings!

    Like

Leave a comment