Pump The Brakes!

pup

This week has been an absolutely crazy week! The clinic I work in is so busy, we see so many patients a day, and I have had so much to do with everything, by the time I get home I cannot even say I am being lazy because I literally hit the pillow and I am out like a light.

At first I felt terrible about the fact I have only hit the gym once and ran once this week. Then I realized it is ok to take a rest day or days. With my schedule being super hectic and work being crazy I have realized it is not me getting home and being lazy, it’s about the fact that my body is requiring rest.

Listening to your body is essential. Sometimes it is better to rest, stretch, maybe whip out the yoga mat and relax and allow your muscles to recover. I mean do not get me wrong there are days that I feel super lazy and I know I need to rally myself and get my butt in gear, but there are times when you should really listen to what your body wants and sometimes that means rest and taking a few days off!!

What is great is that rest and recovery are critical components of any successful training program. Hydrating, eating properly, heating or icing, stretching, and stress management should be utilized during recovery periods. Recovery involves chemical and hormonal balance, nervous system repair, mental state, and more. Our muscles recover the quickest because they receive direct blood flow compared to ligaments, tendons and bones which receive indirect blood flow.

Balance is everything. A combination of exercising, training, rest and recovery with proper nutrition can enhance muscle gains help you meet your goals and improve your overall lifestyle! So kick your feet up, grab a large glass of water and relax!

2 comments

Leave a comment